Dr. Gregg B. Fields, Ph.D.


Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Ph.D., Florida State University, 1988

Contact Information
Office: MC-17, Room 109
Phone: (561) 799-8577
Email: fieldsg@fau.edu

Research Interests

Extracellular matrix biochemistry; synthetic protein design and construction; metalloproteinases; chemical biology; tumor cell biology/signal transduction; proteases in neurodegenerative diseases; solid-phase peptide synthesis methodology.

Recent Publications

Manishabrata Bhowmick, Dorota Tokmina-Roszyk, Lillian Onwuha-Ekpete, Kelli Harmon, Trista Robichaud, Rita Fuerst, Roma Stawikowska, Bjorn Steffensen, William R. Roush, Hector Wong, and Gregg B. Fields. Second Generation Triple-Helical Peptide Transition State Analog Matrix Metalloproteinase Inhibitors. J. Med. Chem. 60, 3814-3827 (2017).

Michal Tokmina-Roszyk and Gregg B. Fields. Dissecting MMP P10’ and P11’ Subsite Sequence Preferences, Utilizing a Positional Scanning, Combinatorial Triple-Helical Peptide Library. J. Biol. Chem. 293, 16661-16676 (2018).

Anna M. Knapinska, Chandani Singh, Gary Drotleff, Daniela Blanco, Cedric Chai, Jason Schwab, Anu Herd, and Gregg B. Fields. Matrix Metalloproteinase 13 Inhibitors for Modulation of Osteoclastogenesis: Enhancement of Solubility and Stability. ChemMedChem 16, 1133-1142 (2021).

Hou-Fu Guo, N. Bota-Rabassedas, Priyam Banerjee, Masahiko Terajima, Bertha L. Rodriguez, Don L. Gibbons, Yulong Chen, Chi-Lin Tsai, Xin Liu, Jiang Yu, Xiaochao Tan, Michal Tokmina-Roszyk, Roma Stawikowska, Gregg B. Fields, Mitchell D. Miller, George N. Phillips, Jr., John A. Tainer, Mitsuo Yamauchi, and Jonathan M. Kurie. A collagen glucosyltransferase drives lung adenocarcinoma progression. Nat. Commun. Biol. 4, 482 (2021).

Lillian Onwuha-Ekpete and Gregg B. Fields. Application of a triple-helical peptide inhibitor of MMP-2/MMP-9 to examine T-cell activation in experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Pept. Sci. 114, e24262 (2022).

Anna M. Knapinska, Gary Drotleff, Cedric Chai, Destiny Twohill, Alexa Ernce, Isabella Grande, Michelle Rodríguez, Dorota Tokmina-Roszyk, Brad Larson, and Gregg B. Fields. Screening MT1-MMP Inhibitors in Three-dimensional Tumor Spheroids. Biomedicines 11, 562 (2023).

Zhongwei Xu, Bingze Xu, Susanna Lundström, Alex Moreno Giro, Danxia Zhao, Outi Sareila, Qixing Li, Alexander Krämer, Erik Lönnblom, Lei Cheng, Bibo Liang, Myriam Martin, Anna Blom, Roma Stawikowska, Gregg B. Fields, Roman Zubarev, and Rikard Holmdahl. Recombinant monoclonal antibody to collagen F4 epitope abrogates arthritis by targeting FCGR3 on neutrophils. Nat. Commun., accepted for publication (2023).


McKnight-Land Grant Professorship, University of Minnesota, 1993-1995.

National Institutes of Health Research Career Development Award, 1994-1999.

Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities Excellence Award in Peptide Synthesis Research, 1997.

Researcher of the Year Award (Full Professor), FAU, 2000-2001.

Profiled in Time Magazine 163(23), June 7, 2004, “The Secrets Of Their Success,” pg. 107-110.

Distinguished Visiting Professor, Imperial College London, 2004.

Researcher of the Year Award (Full Professor), FAU, 2005-2006.

Robert A. Welch Foundation Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry, UTHSCSA, 2008-2010.

Distinguished Chair of Metalloproteinase and Multiple Sclerosis Research, TPIMS, 2010-2014.

Arthritis & Chronic Pain Research Institute Lecturer, University of Florence, Italy, 2011.

Elected Fellow, National Academy of Inventors, 2014.

Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), 2015.

President’s Leadership Award, FAU, 2017-2018.

Research Park at FAU Distinguished Researcher Award, 2018.

Other Information

Member, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2011-present.

Member, American Cancer Society Peer Review Committee on Institutional Research Grants, 2012-2017.